COMMUNITY MINISTRY

Get involved in creating opportunities for people in our spiritual community to explore and deepen faith journeys by sharing and connecting with each other.

Do you enjoy teaching children? Visiting older adults? Expressing your inner creative through writing, art or music? New opportunities are “bubbling up” in this creative Community! Our community includes:

Called to Care


A ministry of outreach, visitation, and friendship to members of our community who are homebound. To lend your time and effort to this important work contact Patty Hammond (patty.hammond13@gmail.com).

Choir


Love to sing? Talk to our Music Director Michael Kelly (mikelly44@gmail.com).

Eve's Circle


If you think a group of interesting women of all ages is your kind of crowd—join us! Contact Nanci Tangeman (nanci@nancitangeman.com; [503] 473-1996).

First Men


A men's group gathering to support the work and ministry of Camp Adams. To learn more talk to Bruce Bishop (babishopdx@me.com).

"Godly Play" & Sunday School


Do you love telling stories? Our curriculum invites children to experience sacred story with curiosity and wonder. We provide training, mentoring and support. Contact Rev. Elizabeth Durant (edurant@uccportland.org; 503-946-1042) or Karen Horn, chair of our Family Ministries Team (503-695-5455).

Governance Committees


Interested in participating in our various governance committees like finance, personnel, ordination, etc? Talk to our Moderator Peace Young (peace.ehibor.young@gmail.com).

Young Adult & High School Ministries


If you're looking to learn more about what's in store for our middle school and high school students, talk to Rev. Michael Ellick (ellick@uccportland.org).

Practicing the Presence


Gather for silent prayer, meditation, and various other contemplative practices at 5:30 p.m. each Wednesday in the Kiva. For learn more talk to Sheldon Hurst (drsheldonhurst@gmail.com).

Spiritual Growth Group


Gathering every Tuesday from Noon to 1 PM in our chapel: come share your experience, strength and hope as we all walk the path together. For more details call Ross Runkel [503] 551-1360).

Sunday Morning Ushers and Greeters


We always welcome new ushers and greeters for our Sunday worship. To sign up talk to Julie Blanchard (julieb2@easystreet.net).

UCC Ukes


Who doesn't want to play the ukulele Talk to Mary Louise Sevetson to learn about this weekly group, (mlsevetson@aol.com; [503] 236-4393).

Grant Helbley Community Core Ministry Facilitator Grant Helbley is a qualified mental health professional and a member-in-discernment in the United Church of Christ. Previous to finding First Congregational, Grant co-pastored a bilingual church in Kazakhstan and started a campus ministry at Ohio State University. 

Grant Helbley
Community Core Ministry Facilitator

Grant Helbley is a qualified mental health professional and a member-in-discernment in the United Church of Christ. Previous to finding First Congregational, Grant co-pastored a bilingual church in Kazakhstan and started a campus ministry at Ohio State University. 


Want to get involved? Have an idea or a question? Contact us at community@uccportland.org.